4th October 2019

Final names added to Eliud Kipchoge's pacemaking dream team

2019 World Championships 5000m silver medallist Selemon Barega among the star names to complete all-star pacing squad

Total of 41 pacemakers will be used in the sub-two hour challenge in Vienna

The INEOS 1:59 Challenge can today announce the final set of athletes in a pacemaking dream team put together to help Eliud Kipchoge become the first human to run a sub-two hour marathon.

Among the final set of 14 pacers named in the all-star team are 10 athletes currently competing at the World Athletics Championships in Doha, including Ethiopian teenager Selemon Barega who won a silver medal in the 5000m. Barega, 19, is also the fastest man in the world over 3000m this year and the second fastest over 5000m and 10000m.

Also confirmed to help Kipchoge in the historic INEOS 1:59 Challenge in Vienna are Ronald Musagala (UGA), the winner of two Diamond League 1500m races in 2019 and Matthew Centrowitz (USA), the reigning Olympic 1500m champion.

The other pacemakers confirmed today are Hillary Bor (USA), Justus Kimutai (KEN), Jacob Kiplimo (UGA), Alex Korio (KEN), Jonathan Korir (KEN), Ronald Kwemoi (KEN), Lopez Lomong (USA), Stewart McSweyn (AUS), Kota Murayama (JPN), Nicholas Rotich (KEN) and Patrick Tiernan (AUS).

This brings the total of pacemakers for the INEOS 1:59 Challenge to 41. Other athletes currently competing at the World Championships who will be part of the pacemaking team include all three of Norway’s Ingebrigtsen brothers – Henrik, Filip and Jakob – Paul Chelimo (USA) and Julien Wanders (SUI).

For the full list of pacemakers, click here.

Spencer Barden, Head of Pacemakers for the INEOS 1:59 Challenge, said: “This is an incredible group of athletes that has been put together to help Eliud try to make history. From athletes shining at the current World Championships such as the Ingebrigtsen brothers and Selemon Barega to an absolute legend of the sport in Bernard Lagat, this really is a dream team of pacemakers.

“These athletes are coming in from all corners of the world. Many of them have had long, tough seasons on the track circuit but not one of them needed convincing. They all recognise this is a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity. They recognise the greatness of Eliud and they want to help him break what is the last great barrier in athletics and become part of history.”

The pacemakers will be split into teams of runners who will be rotated into the INEOS 1:59 Challenge to pace Kipchoge during a designated stretch of the marathon distance.

Selemon Barega

Hillary Bor

Matthew Centrowitz

Justus Kimutai

Jacob Kiplimo

Alex Korio

Jonathan Korir

Ronald Kwemoi

Lopez Lomong

Stewart McSweyn

Kota Murayama

Ronald Musagala

Nicholas Rotich

Patrick Tiernan


< previous article next article >